# Report to the Council

Date: 27 July 2017

Subject: Appointment of Members to External Organisations

### 1. EPPING FOREST LOCAL HIGHWAYS PANEL

## Recommending:

That the Council appoint four member representatives to the Epping Forest Local Highways Panel for 2017/18, in accordance with the revised terms of reference agreed by Essex County Council's Cabinet Member for Highways.

1.1 At its annual meeting on 25 May 2017, the Council appointed the following member representatives to the Epping Forest Local Highways Panel for 2017/18:

Councillor N. Avey Councillor R. Bassett Councillor G. Chambers Councillor J. Knapman Councillor P. Keska Councillor C. Roberts Councillor E. Webster

- 1.2 The Director of Governance has subsequently been advised that the terms of reference of the Local Highways Panel were revised by Essex County Council's Cabinet Member for Highways in November 2016 and now provide for only four member representatives be appointed to the Panel by this Council, alongside four members of the County Council. It does not appear that the Council had been formally advised of the revised terms of reference and membership requirements for the Panel, at the time of the recent annual meeting and this has only come to light on the communication to the County Council of the details of the seven member representatives appointed on 25 May 2017.
- 1.3 The revised terms of reference of the Panel require that overall membership must be representative of the political composition of Essex County Council, who have advised that membership should therefore comprise six members of the Conservative Group and two from the other political groups and independent members. The four Essex County Council representatives appointed to the Panel by the Chairman (Councillor V. Metcalfe) for 2017/18 are:

Councillor V. Metcalfe (Conservative Group)
Councillor C. Whitbread (Conservative Group)
Councillor A. Jackson (Conservative Group)
Councillor C. C. Pond (Independent)

1.4 The Council is therefore requested to appoint four member representatives (three members of the Conservative Group and one from the other political groups and independent members) to the Epping Forest Local Highways Panel, in accordance with its revised terms of reference. The appointment of members to external organisations is a matter reserved to the Council.

#### 2. CAMPAIGN TO PROTECT RURAL ENGLAND

## Recommending:

That the Council appoint a deputy member representative to the Campaign to Protect Rural England for 2017/18.

- 2.1 At its annual meeting on 25 May 2017, the Council appointed Councillor Y. Knight as its representative on the Campaign to Protect Rural England (CPRE). The Council did not appoint a deputy representative to CPRE at the annual meeting.
- 2.2 The Council is therefore now requested to appoint a deputy member representative to the CPRE for 2017/18. The appointment of members to external organisations is a matter reserved to the Council.

## 3. CO-OPERATION FOR SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT BOARD

## Recommending:

That the Council note the appointment of Councillor N. Bedford (Deputy) and Councillor C. Whitbread as additional member representatives to the Cooperation for Sustainable Development Board for 2017/18.

- 3.1 At its annual meeting on 25 May 2017, the Council noted the appointment by the Leader, of Councillor J. Philip as one of its representatives on the Co-operation for Sustainable Development Board for 2017/18.
- 3.2 Since the annual meeting, the Leader has also appointed Councillor N. Bedford (Deputy) and himself as additional member representatives to the Co-operation for Sustainable Development Board.
- 3.3 The Council is requested to note these additional appointments for 2017/18.